February 28, 2019

ARRL members elect new NTX SM

ARRL members in the North Texas Section have elected a new Section Manager (SM). Steven Lott Smith, KG5VK, who lives near the town of Ben Franklin, received 714 votes to 576 for Ken Mitchell, KD2KW, of Oak Point.

Smith has been president of the Key City Amateur Radio Club in Abilene, and of the Shreveport Amateur Radio Association in Louisiana. Smith will pick up the reins from current SM Jay Urish, W5GM, who opted not to run for a new term after serving for the past 2 years.

Smith was one of four new ARRL Section Managers elected in the just-concluded winter election cycle. Section Manager election ballots were counted on February 19 at ARRL Headquarters. Smith begins his term on April 1.